Welcome to the world Chloe

IMG_0662

A little over a month ago my life changed in ways that no pregnancy or parenting book could have prepared me for.

Since Chloe was born on July 2nd my days are no longer filled with thoughts of work, spur of the moment outings, dinners out, post-work workout dates with friends and marathon TV show viewing sessions. Instead my days are filled with diapers changes, bouncy chairs, neighbourhood walks and brief moments of trying to get things done around the house. And for the most part I wouldn’t change a thing. Well, maybe a few things as I think it is important to be honest…it would be great to get more sleep for sure and to not struggle so much with breastfeeding. Since becoming a mom five weeks ago here are some of the things that I’ve learned:

Leaving the house takes time: Gone are the days of just hopping in the shower, getting ready and leaving the house. Since C arrived it takes a couple of hours to make sure we arrive where we need to be. The goal is just to be as on time as possible.

Solo outings with a baby aren’t so scary: I was petrified the first time I left the house alone with C and all we were doing was going for a neighbourhood walk. All I could I think about was what would happen if she cried and started to fuss. What would other people think? Would they think I was a bad mom? Now this fear is starting to lessen as we’ve tackled the bus, visits with friends at restaurants and trips around the neighbourhood.

Each day is a new day: There are definitely days that are tougher than others, but am starting to learn that every tomorrow brings a new adventure and milestone. These things make the tougher days less bad. Seeing C smile for the first time one morning was a pretty exciting moment.

Other moms are going through the same thing: I recently joined a mom and baby group. It has been great to connect with others who are going through the same thing as you. Meeting other moms has made me realize that the questions, concerns and things I’m going through are pretty normal. We all have similar experiences and it is pretty cool to be with other women who don’t care if your baby starts to howl!

Who am I? One of the things I have also realized is that I have ceased to exist as my own person at the moment. While it is great that we can swap stories at the moms group, it has been pretty interesting to me that we aren’t really getting to know one another at the moment. There are no questions about you, where you come from and/or what you do. This may come with time, though.

And finally…meeting your baby and getting to know them is one of the best feelings in the world.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

